Loving: Monk Shoes

Valentino monk boot

(image via Valentino)

It’s no secret that I’m excited about the revival of the menswear-inspired trend: brogues, trenches, oxfords, stiff collar shirts – I’m into all of it.  A tomboy at heart, last Fall I was a massive proponent of slim trousers and blazers.  I’ll be reviving the vintage men’s vests I picked up in 2009 and, paired with my new Light Check Boyfriend Coat, my wardrobe is ready for Fall.  I just don’t think my heart is ready for the seasonal switch.

To help sway my heart, I plan to invest in (or at least constantly browse at) some menswear-inspired monk strap shoes.  Much like the side braid, the side buckle is making a serious statement (and I’m not talking about the buckled gino shoes Aldo made in the late 90s).  GQ was onto this last year.  From guests at our wedding (Andrew!) to all the men’s shoes at Galeries Lafayette in Paris, I’m seeing the monk strap absolutely everywhere. Here’s a short edit of some of the coolest men’s and women’s monk strap shoes out there. Fall 2013 Monk Shoes(collage created using Polyvore)

Leave a Reply

