My Fave Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’ve spent half of my adult life having people steal my jokes and gain all the credit due to their better joke delivery.  Friend, you know who you are.  I guess it’s some kind of karma then that I’ve been posting others’ delicious recipes on Superfora and reap all of the glory.  Today’s recipe is no exception.  It was passed on to me by the baking genius herself, Lyndsey, when I inquired about an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie recipe for Simon.  In little time, I’ve gone from baking for my man to baking for co-workers and friends.  Frequently.  These oatmeal chocolate chip cookies are now semi-famous.

If you do it right, they end up a bit crispy on the edges yet chewy in the middle.  Below is the recipe followed by play-by-play photos so you know how much work to expect.  Note: An over-the-top animal print outfit is optional.
Ingredients
  • 1 cup butter, room temperature (take the butter out in advance so it will be room temp by the time you start baking)
  • 1 cup sugar (I add slightly less)
  • 1 cup brown sugar (ditto, I add slightly less than a cup)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon, maybe a bit more
  • ½ tsp of nutmeg
  • 2 1/2 cups oats (Quaker quick oat)
  • 1 1/2 – 1 3/4 cups chocolate chips (eyeball how much you want)

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper (not necessary if you have not-stick sheets). Either with a mixer or by hand, cream together the butter and the sugars in a large bowl until mixture is light in color. Beat in the eggs one at a time, followed by the milk and the vanilla extract.
  2. Next, in a medium bowl, stir together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg. Either by hand or with the mixer on low speed, gradually beat the flour into the sugar mixture until just incorporated.
  3. Stir in the oats and chocolate chips by hand.
  4. Drop 1-inch balls of dough onto the cookie sheet, placing them about 1 1/2 inches apart so they have room to spread.
  5. Bake for 10-12 minutes, until golden brown at the edges and light golden at the center.
  6. Cool on baking sheet for at least 2-3 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.
  7. Stuff yo face
(All photos by Simon)
There you have it.  I’ve used these suckers for several occasions and they work like a charm every time.  Now go make your friends happy and bake them some goddamn cookies!
Thank you, Lynds! xo
5 Comments on “My Fave Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Expend on this theme and you will not be disappointed – these oatmeal cookies are SO GOOD. http://smittenkitchen.com/2008/05/crispy-salted-oatmeal-white-chocolate-cookies/

  2. mmmmmmmmm I wanna I wanna!!!!

  3. James says:

    Sanderelli….super impressed with your mise en place to complete this recipe….the chef in me can’t stop smiling…the ahem “burnout” in me can’t wait for the munchies and these cookies to coincide. Ur blog continues to amaze and impress me…hope I can contribute some recipes

    • Sandra says:

      Friend for Life: Thanks for the love, I really appreciate it.
      I’d love to have you contribute a recipe. Just send it to me along with some photos and I’ll take care of the rest. If it’s anywhere near as good as the fig/goat cheese/prosciutto recipe you gave me years ago, I’m sure it will be killer. xo!


Leave a Reply

