Out of This World: Setareh Mohtarez

Shame.  It took me 3 years to discover Setareh Mohtarez‘s 2009 mind blowing Brightness Dawn Collection. The NYC-based designer created these unbelievable pieces in her 3rd year at Antwerp Royal Academy.  My biggest accomplishment in 3rd year was Walk Safe-ing my friends to the Beer Store while sporting a reflector-laden jacket and gripping a walkie talkie.
The reasons I love her collection are two-fold.
  1. The planetary prints are otherworldly while the shapes and colours evoke flower petals.  To gain inspiration from two vastly different subjects and be able to combine them into a single coherent theme, and collection for that matter, simply amazes me.
  2. I’m a sucker for architectural pieces: sculptured skirts, cocoon shoulders, voluminous hips.  I gravitate toward stand-out pieces and volume is one of the best ways of achieving that in my opinion.  I already blogged about the illusion of hips.  I’ll take a flower petal bustier to enhance my bust line any day.
Despite the multiple references, the patterns, shapes and movement all work together perfectly in the Brightness Dawn Collection.  Setareh Mohtarez not only nailed this collection, she solidified her reputation as a force to be reckoned with.  Boom.
(All images via SetarehMohtarez.com)
One Comment on “Out of This World: Setareh Mohtarez”

  1. Kelli Chan says:

    Amazing! I’m absolutely in awe, and in love with the designs.


Leave a Reply

