Culture Crawling

I’ve been known (on occasion) to whine about the lackluster art and culture offering in Vancouver. Well the Eastside Culture Crawl was a “Say whaaat?!” aimed directly at my moan. On Sunday my sister and I spent the afternoon exploring the works of over 50 artists (and their studio spaces) at the Mergatroid Building as a part of the Eastside Culture Crawl. And that was just a drop in the bucket of what the annual 3-day artistic extravaganza had to offer. Now in it’s 15th year, the 2011 Eastside Culture Crawl featured over 350 artists opening their doors to an estimated 10,000 visitors. From sculptures to paintings to furniture and jewelry, there really was something for everyone. But there was one artist who for me was an absolute standout: M.A. Tateishi.

Walking through a maze of studios, I was immediately drawn to a large glossy display featuring splashes of bright colours in one of the hallways. After a bit of meandering we finally stumbled upon Tateishi’s studio where we were welcomed by some of the most vibrant pieces of multi-media artwork and the vivacious artist herself.  She explained to us how colour helps her bring things to life, and a true lust for life (and fluorescent pink!) comes out in her work.

If I could, I would buy them all. But since I can’t, I’ll post as many pictures as I can here, and dream of what my wall (and my wardrobe!) would look like bearing these fabulous prints.

Pink is the Navy Blue of India

Beautiful Wall

A Game of Chess

Oriented

All images (and more of Tateishi’s artwork) can be found at: http://www.matart.ca/gallery.htm

3 Comments on “Culture Crawling”

  1. m.a.tateishi says:

    Wow! Thanks so much for your enthusiasm. On those dark days when nothing’s going right in the studio, I’m coming back to read this post. Twice!


Leave a Reply

