The Halloween Costumes We’ll Never Top

(Photo via Voanio)

“Everybody has an inner Zef, it’s just like a zone you flex.”

Last Halloween, Simon and I dressed up as Ninja and Yo-Landi Vi$$er from the unrivaled South African rap group Die Antwoord.   They had just released Evil Boy, the first single off their debut album $0$.  We were addicted to their music videos and interviews for days leading up to Halloween.  I enlisted the aid of three friends to nail down Yo-Landi’s strange-yet-sexy mullet for me.  The tattoos on Simon, including the Evil Boy cartoon and PRETTY WISE, were perfectly replicated (thanks Nikola!) and our costumes were self made.

Simon and I tried so hard to memorize their quotes, lyrics and dance moves.  I think we did a great job of pulling off the Zef look (below) but the duo’s unrefined demeanor proved hard to replicate for an entire night.  And no matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t do sexy quite like Yo-Landi.

Not everybody who saw us in character recognized who we were portraying but those who did were dying.  This costume idea was by far the best I had ever had.  So.much.fun.

(Photo by Nikola Jurlina)

Check out a couple of their videos yo.  They’re amazing.

“This is like the coolest song I ever heard in my whole life”

This year, well aware that there’s no way we can top last year’s costumes, we’re boycotting Halloween and opting to stay home to watch Drive and drink scotch instead.  Happy Halloween to all y’all.

One Comment on “The Halloween Costumes We’ll Never Top”

  1. T says:

    OMG.. I WISH I had of seen this in person – %100 agree BEST Costume EVER!!!!
    Love Love Love!!!!

    xo


Leave a Reply

