Grow your own greens!

Everyone goes green with envy when I tell them I have a garden and grow my own veggies, but what they don’t realize is how much work goes into it.

Maybe, do you really wanna know, how my garden grows? (And did you really think I’d pass up on an opportunity to quote an Oasis song?) There’s weeding, watering and other regular upkeep. Get off track for one weekend and you’re suddenly dealing with an untamable jungle. And don’t even get me started on letting things flower. Once those buds appear your swish chard is pretty much hooped.

But having a garden definitely has its perks. I currently don’t have to worry about running out of garlic or onions (although I did mistake some high grass for chives…). I’m at all times three steps away from a killer mojito. I have more zucchini than I know what to do with (although perfecting my zucchini bread recipe seems to be a good use of product). And I get to brag about growing my own corn (yes, corn! In the city!).  There is also an abundance of fruit around allowing me to have decadent delicacies like fresh figs – that apparently not too many people in the city have had (hit me up if you want to try!). But the best perk of all is throwing harvest parties for your friends where they get to walk away with some free fresh veg and you get a helping hand with the picking. Win. Win.

 

3 Comments on “Grow your own greens!”

  1. Tatyana says:

    Who are you? 🙂

  2. atomically says:

    Sandra would call me a domacica, although I really don’t like that term! She even brought me the cookies for me from Cro to rub it in 🙂

  3. Heather says:

    It’s so nice to realize that I can put together a pretty decent meal, just from my garden. And it’s fun too! What are we going to do when growing season is over?


Leave a Reply

