Start the Summer Sorbet Styles

While you wouldn’t necessarily know it by the temperatures in Vancouver (boots have been worn as recently as this weekend), today is officially the first day of summer! Luckily, there are a few things that can always remind you of summer no matter what the weather. For me, it’s things like the smell of sunscreen, the feeling of sand between my toes, the sound of fish sizzling on the grill, the sight of watermelon chilling in the fridge and the taste of a sweet sorbet.  (Yes, I realize that the last three senses are actually all food related.  It’s how I like to associate.)

Last weekend, the memory of ending a fabulous summer day and a gorgeous meal with loveliest lemon rosemary sorbet awoke in me such a craving I simply had to replicate the recipe. To my surprise, it was dead simple to make. Being the kind soul that I am, I’ve decided to share it with you all so you can start your summer the right way – sorbet styles.

(Recipe pretty much plagiarized from What’s Cooking America)

Lemon Rosemary Sorbet

1 1/2 cups sugar

1 1/2 cups water

2 twigs of fresh rosemary

1 1/3 cups lemon juice

3 tablespoons vodka

In a medium saucepan over medium heat, combine sugar and water. Stir until mixture comes to a boil; reduce heat to low and simmer 5 minutes, creating a syrup mixture. Remove from heat; add rosemary, cover, and let stand approximately 10 minutes or until cool.

Take the rosemary twigs out and add lemon juice and vodka to the syrup mixture, Stir em in.

NOTE: The vodka (or any other type of alcohol) is the secret to a soft sorbet. Alcohol itself does not freeze and adding a little bit keeps the sorbet from doing the same. Vodka is excellent to use because it doesn’t affect the taste. (Bonus: it’s booze!)

People who have an ice-cream maker (who has an ice-cream maker??) follow the manufacturer’s instructions.

Everybody else: Pour into container, cover, and place mixture in the freezer. When it is semi-solid, mash it up with a fork and refreeze again. When frozen, place in a food processor or blender (or use a fork) and process until smooth. Cover and refreeze until serving time.

Makes 8 to 10 servings.

Photo from Catavino. My batch was eaten up so quickly I didn’t have even time to snap a picture (also, it wasn’t quite this pretty).

Pair the sorbet with some homemade truffles and bring them to your next BBQ. Your friends will be wowed and you’ll be invited to every outdoor party in town for the next 3 months – guaranteed.

4 Comments on “Start the Summer Sorbet Styles”

  1. Jessica says:

    You’ve inspired me to pull out my ice cream maker (yes – I actually own one).
    Have you ever perused David Lebovitz’s ice cream recipes. If not, do so now. http://www.davidlebovitz.com/category/recipes/ice-creams-and-sorbets/
    Salted Butter Caramel Ice Cream… yes please.

    • atomically says:

      Oh. My. Gawd. Must. Try. I am very envious of your ice cream maker. Considering how much I love the stuff, I should really consider the investment… I tried salted caramel ice cream last time I was in San Fran and it’s my new favourite.

  2. Tatyana says:

    I like this 🙂


Leave a Reply

