Double Fisting in Paris

Just when you were starting to like the new all-Tomica format of the blog, I’ve returned from my trip to Paris.  And I’m going to tell you about it.  Having already seen most of the museums and sights there, Simon and I spent the entire trip relaxing and indulging; reading in parks, biking up the canal, picnicking, hanging out in cafes, people watching, walking around our favourite neighbourhoods and feasting on wine and cheese with our dear friends.

This is what it looked like.

This was taken across the street from the entrance to my favourite Parisian market, le marche d’Aligre (to the right).  Coming to this produce market used to be part of my daily routine when I lived in this neighbourhood.  I was both excited and nervous to return.  Sadly, reconnecting with my old homeboy vendors was one of my most anticlimactic experiences of recent memory.  They seemed to be more interested in selling me strawberries than finding out what I’ve been up to the last 10 months.

Street corner in my favourite arrondissement, the 11th.

On the left is the Bibliotheque Nationale de France, a four-building complex with a design so contemporary it felt more like Vancouver than Paris.

North side of the Bibliotheque Nationale de France.  And Simon.

All girls on bikes roll through the city looking this good.

Is this guy seriously pulling off a flower-print shirt & short shorts?  LOVE.

My goal for this trip was to double fist baguettes and ride bikes.

 Friday afternoon picnic with my homies at Buttes Chaumont.

See the guy in the glasses and hat pointing at me from behind my friends?  The photo was initially of my friends but I cropped it so you could get a better look at him.  He came up to me after I snapped this to tell me that I wasn’t allowed to take his picture.  Straight faced.  Sorry Kanye, didn’t see you there in the background, looking all ordinary and shit.  Diva.

Dinner on Canal St. Martin.  When simple is great.

And there you have it.  Eight days of indulgence and laziness.  I’d trade a thousand run-ins with the Kanye wannabe to be back in Paris…biking around the city and drinking wine on the canal with all the Parisians just as I left them.

6 Comments on “Double Fisting in Paris”

  1. Katie says:

    I wish I looked that good biking. I look awkward and sweaty.

    Looks like a great trip lady!
    X

  2. Kiwi says:

    so ridiculously jealous of you right now.

    bisous cherie! xxo

  3. Olgs says:

    Welcome back lady! What a perfect trip.

    Also, short shorts appears to have perfectly lasered legs. Fierce.

  4. colleen says:

    Well, I just got back from Halifax, so… … … I’ve got nothing.


Leave a Reply

