Read Poetry.

When was the last time you read a poem?  Does poetry seem like a lost art to anyone else?

I was really into writing poems in grade 4.  Not because I had deep feelings I longed to express through verse but rather because I thought I was good at rhyming.  Back then, I wrote poems with relative ease and was inspired by everything from uncomfortable shoes to the hit 1990s song It Takes Two by Rob Base and DJ E-Z Rock.  Somehow, these awful poems still live in a little box in the back of my brain labelled elementary school pastimes.

These days, I am more likely to write mathematical equations than poetry.  No longer an optimistic 9-year old, I leave poem writing to those who are actually capable of producing something meaningful.  Verses that resonate with others.  Hence, I sign off today by sharing with you with my friend Kiwi’s perfect little poem entitled i am not a whole from her blog kiwispeaks:

I am not a whole.
I am a sum of small parts,
shattered fragments,
cracked and scattered
across linoleum floors.

I will be loved in pieces,
strung together with twine.
Before my body bursts once more,
over flowing with warmth and ache.

You will love me for my pieces,
sharp edges, blisters,
drawing blood from your fingertips.
My heart a prism, catching light
rainbows tumble across
the very same linoleum floors.

Leave a Reply

